Agenda_rechts_EarthBeats_WasaufdemSpielsteht_19.8.21.png

19.8. – 23.9.

In the lead-up to the exhibition 'Earth Beats', the Kunsthaus is staging a series of interdisciplinary events entitled ‘Earth Talks'. Well-known international figures from the fields of climate research, forestry, business, urban planning, mobility research, technology and philosophy as well as activists from the worlds of film and literature will debate issues of nature protection and sustainability.

After the much-attended preview, the collection is now about to move in. Follow here until the opening on 9 October, with a glimpse behind the scenes, as the art moves into the extension and learn everything about the architecture and sustainability in our film series.

Countdown journal

Richter_A7306685.png
Gerhard Richter, Eight Student Nurses, 1966, Kunsthaus Zürich, 2021 © Gerhard Richter

From abstract expressionism to expressive awakening

With selected works of the collection from 1945 onwards, the expressive aura of modernism has reached the extension building. In an exciting arrangement, the contrasts between abstract expressionism (Newman, Pollock, Rothko, Sekula) and pop art (Warhol, Wool) are being visualised. The spectacular paintings and rare original sculptures by Cy Twombly also form a focal point of this phase in a separate exhibition area. The post-modern spectrum is represented above all by the works of the expressive awakening from 1980 onwards (Baselitz, Genzken, Polke) and a special accent is set by 'Eight Student Nurses', a newly added major work by Gerhard Richter from 1966.

Gqunta.png
Lungiswa Gqunta, Lawn, 2017, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2019

Both a warning and a reminder of the fragile present

The extension now also offers prominent space for contemporary art. Maximum associative works such as those by the South African Lungiswa Gqunta or the Mexican Teresa Margolles focus on existential themes of humanity such as social injustice, expulsion and exclusion. Gqunta's bottle installation 'Lawn' (2017), for example, symbolises the fragility of the South African present in the context of racism and violence. And Margolles's radical works'Pesquisas' (2016) or 'Máscara de Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi sumergida en cemento' (2015) literally placard and cement the disregard for women's and human rights.

Behind the scenes @kunsthauszuerich

Kunst-im-Bau-Erweiterung.jpg

The first artworks in the lobby, bar and garden

A number of works have spent months undergoing restoration to prepare them for presentation in their new permanent home. Alexander Calder’s mobile ‘Cinq blancs, un rouge’ (1972) in the lobby feels almost close enough to reach out and touch. Max Ernst’s mural ‘Pétales et jardin de la nymphe Ancholie’, which was painted in 1934 for the Corso Bar at Bellevue, is now the artistic centrepiece of the Chipperfield Bar. Robert Delauney’s ‘Formes cirulaires’ (1930) draws the eye towards the second floor, while ‘Grundstein’ (2014), donated by Urs Fischer, lies casually between the spaces.

In the latest episode 'Art and Space' of the extension film series, our curators report on the context of the selected permanent collection works.

Watch film on YouTube

Kunsthaussammlung-Erweiterung.jpg
Urs Fischer, Grundstein, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, Donated by the artist, 2016

The Kunsthaus Collection in the new extension

Half of the rooms in the existing building have been reorganized. Now Munch meets Baselitz, while the Egyptian artist Anna Boghiguian shares the domed room (previously formerly home to Böcklin) with Kader Attia. Between now and the opening, the Collection, most of it post-1960, will move into the extension. Dada gains its own exhibition space, as does Cy Twombly, while Hodler and Segantini as well as Monet’s water lilies will be heading across Heimplatz. Many more will follow to complement the private collections.

Kunsthaus collection

Buehrle_A7305562.png

Private collections: Bührle, Merzbacher and Looser

The collection of Emil Bührle, with its world-famous French paintings, is moving into the Kunsthaus. The artistic concept envisages displaying the more than 180 paintings and sculptures alongside works of Classical Modernism, thereby presenting visitors with an unbroken chronological sequence of artistic epochs. Werner Merzbacher shares his passion for art with the public in a feast of colour, the fruit of a long-term cooperation featuring key figures of Impressionism, the ‘Fauves’, ‘Brücke’ and ‘Blauer Reiter’, Futurists and Constructivists as well as more recent positions from Lohse to Rist. Last but not least, 70 selected works of Minimal Art, Arte Povera and Abstract Expressionism from the Looser Collection are a spectacular addition to the Kunsthaus’s holdings.

Private collections

Your #KunsthausExtension

A museum for art and the public

Together with the existing Kunsthaus, which is linked to the Chipperfield building by a passage running beneath Heimplatz, the new ensemble is the largest art museum in Switzerland. The area available for presenting art increases to a total of 11,500 m2. The enlarged Kunsthaus offers more the double the amount of public space. The central lobby, which is open to all, and the multi-purpose workshops provide space for interaction between art and the public and will enhance the scope for sharing and exchange. The shop and bar, ballroom and garden, all of which will be accessible outside museum hours, open the new Kunsthaus up to the city at large.

Vision, planning and construction

Extension film series

6 Videos

6 Min

210721_KunstUndRaum_Graded.00_01_43_01.Standbild003.jpg

Art and space

3 Min

still-final.jpg

Architecture

5 Min

tastende_lichter_small.jpg

Art and construction

3 Min

Nachhaltigkeit-still.png

Sustainability

3 Min

20200330_Episode02_Materialien.00_00_12_11.Standbild005.jpg

Materials

3 Min

20191023_Erweiterung_Lichtkonzept.Still2.jpg

Light concept

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg

In our private architecture tour of the building you’ll learn all about the extension and its star architect’s vision.

Agenda_rechts_EarthBeats_WasaufdemSpielsteht_19.8.21.png

19.8. – 23.9.

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung «Earth Beats» lädt das Kunsthaus zur interdisziplinären Veranstaltungsreihe ein. Namhafte internationale Vertreterinnen aus den Bereichen Klimaforschung, Forstwissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Städtebau, Mobilitätsforschung, Technologie und Philosophie sowie aus dem kritisch engagierten Film und der Literatur debattieren über Fragen von Naturschutz und Nachhaltigkeit.

Nach der vielbesuchten Preview steht nun der Einzug der Sammlung bevor. Verfolgen Sie hier bis zur Eröffnung am 9. Oktober, mit einem Blick hinter die Kulissen, wie die Kunst in den Erweiterungsbau einzieht und erfahren Sie alles über die Architektur und Nachhaltigkeit in unserer Film-Reihe.

Countdown Journal

Richter_A7306685.png
Gerhard Richter, Acht Lernschwestern, 1966, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Schenkung durch Hans B. Wyss und Brigitte Wyss-Sponagel, 2021 © Gerhard Richter

Vom abstrakten Expressionismus zum expressiven Aufbruch

Mit ausgewählten Werken der Sammlung ab 1945 hat die expressive Aura der Moderne den Erweiterungsbau erreicht. In einem spannenden Arrangement werden dabei die Kontraste visualisiert zwischen abstraktem Expressionismus (Newman, Pollock, Rothko, Sekula) und Pop Art (Warhol, Wool). Einen Schwerpunkt dieser Phase bilden auf einer eigenen Ausstellungsfläche auch die spektakulären Gemälde und seltenen Originalskulpturen von Cy Twombly. Das postmoderne Spektrum repräsentieren vor allem die Werke des expressiven Aufbruchs ab 1980 (Baselitz, Genzken, Polke) und einen besonderen Akzent setzt «Acht Lernschwestern», ein neu hinzugekommenes Hauptwerk Gerhard Richters von 1966.

Gqunta.png
Lungiswa Gqunta, Lawn, 2017, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2019

Mahnend und erinnernd an die zerbrechliche Gegenwart

Prominenten Raum bietet der Erweiterungsbau jetzt auch der Gegenwartskunst. Maximal assoziative Werke wie die der Südafrikanerin Lungiswa Gqunta oder der Mexikanerin Teresa Margolles richten den Fokus auf existenzielle Themen der Menschheit wie soziale Ungerechtigkeit, Vertreibung, Ausgrenzung. Mehrdimensional symbolisiert etwa Gquntas Flascheninstallation «Lawn» (2017) die Zerbrechlichkeit der südafrikanischen Gegenwart im Kontext von Rassismus und Gewalt. Und Margolles radikale Werke «Pesquisas» (2016) oder «Máscara de Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi sumergida en cemento» (2015) plakatieren und zementieren regelrecht die Missachtung von Frauen- und Menschenrechten.

Behind the scenes @kunsthauszuerich

Kunst-im-Bau-Erweiterung.jpg
Ansicht der Bar, Max Ernst, Pétales et jardin de la nymphe Ancolie, 1934, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1965, Die Restaurierung wurde ermöglicht durch die Hans Imholz-Stiftung

Erste Kunstwerke in Halle, Bar und Garten

Diverse Werke wurden monatelang restauriert und für die definitive Platzierung vorbereitet. Alexander Calders Mobile «Cinq blancs, un rouge» (1972) schwebt zum Greifen nah in der grossen Halle. Max Ernsts Wandbild «Pétales et jardin de la nymphe Ancholie», das 1934 für die Corso-Bar am Bellevue geschaffen wurde, ist nun der künstlerische Mittelpunkt der Chipperfield-Bar. Robert Delauneys «Formes cirulaires» (1930) zieht den Blick ins zweite Obergeschoss und der von Urs Fischer geschenkte «Grundstein» (2014) liegt lässig zwischen den Räumen.

In der neusten Episode der Erweiterungs-Filmreihe «Kunst und Raum» berichten unsere Kurator/innen über den Kontext der ausgewählten permanenten Sammlungs-Werke.

Film auf YouTube ansehen

Kunsthaussammlung-Erweiterung.jpg
Urs Fischer, Grundstein, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, Geschenk des Künstlers zur Grundsteinlegung des Chipperfield-Baus am 8. November 2016

Einzug der Kunsthaus-Sammlung

Im Bestandsbau ist die Hälfte der Räume neu eingerichtet worden. Munch wird auf Baselitz treffen und die ägyptische Künstlerin Anna Boghiguian teilt sich mit Kader Attia den ehemaligen Kuppelsaal, der einst Böcklin gewidmet war. Bis zur Eröffnung zieht allmählich die Sammlung, mehrheitlich ab 1960, in die Erweiterung ein. Dada erhält eine eigene Ausstellungsfläche genauso Cy Twombly, Hodler und Segantini sowie die Seerosen von Monet wechseln die Seite. Viele andere werden folgen und sich privaten Sammlungen anlehnen.

Kunsthaus-Sammlung

Buehrle_A7305562.png
Ansicht Sammlung Emil Bührle

Private Kollektionen: Bührle, Merzbacher, Looser

Die für ihre französische Malerei weltberühmte Sammlung Emil Bührle zieht ins Kunsthaus ein. Das künstlerische Konzept sieht vor, die über 180 Gemälde und Skulpturen an diejenigen der Klassischen Moderne anzulagern und dem Publikum ein Kontinuum der Epochen anzubieten. Mit einem Fest der Farbe und einer langfristig angelegten Kooperation teilt Werner Merzbacher seine Leidenschaft für die Kunst mit einem breiten Publikum. Zu sehen sind Hauptvertreter des Impressionismus, der «Fauves», Vertreter der «Brücke», der «Blauen Reiter», Futuristen und Konstruktivisten sowie jüngere Positionen von Lohse bis Rist. Last but not least stellen 70 aus der Sammlung Looser ausgewählten Werke der Minimal Art, der Arte Povera und des Abstrakten Expressionismus eine ausserordentliche Bereicherung dar.

Private Sammlungen

Deine #KunsthausErweiterung

Museum für Kunst und Publikum

Zusammen mit dem bestehenden Kunsthaus, das mit einer unter dem Heimplatz verlaufenden Passage mit dem Chipperfield-Bau verbunden ist, entsteht das grösste Kunstmuseum der Schweiz. Die Präsentationsfläche für Kunst wächst auf gesamt 11’500 m2. Der Anteil öffentlicher Flächen im erweiterten Kunsthaus wird mehr als verdoppelt. Die frei zugängliche zentrale Halle und vielseitig nutzbare Ateliers bieten Raum für die Interaktion zwischen Kunst und Publikum und stärken den Austausch untereinander. Mit dem Shop- und Barbetrieb, dem grossen Festsaal sowie einem Garten – Einrichtungen, die auch ausserhalb der Öffnungszeiten des Museums zugänglich sein werden – öffnet sich das neue Kunsthaus gegen aussen.

Vision, Planung und Bau

Erweiterungs-Filmreihe

6 Videos

6 Min

210721_KunstUndRaum_Graded.00_01_43_01.Standbild003.jpg

Kunst und Raum

3 Min

still-final.jpg

Architektur

5 Min

tastende_lichter_small.jpg

Kunst und Bau

3 Min

Nachhaltigkeit-still.png

Nachhaltigkeit

3 Min

20200330_Episode02_Materialien.00_00_12_11.Standbild005.jpg

Materialien

3 Min

20191023_Erweiterung_Lichtkonzept.Still2.jpg

Lichtkonzept

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg

Mit einer privaten Architekturführung erfahren Sie alles über den Erweiterungsbau und die architektonischen Visionen des Star-Architekten.