Agenda_rechts_EarthBeats_WasaufdemSpielsteht_19.8.21.png

19.8. – 23.9.

In the lead-up to the exhibition 'Earth Beats', the Kunsthaus is staging a series of interdisciplinary events entitled ‘Earth Talks'. Well-known international figures from the fields of climate research, forestry, business, urban planning, mobility research, technology and philosophy as well as activists from the worlds of film and literature will debate issues of nature protection and sustainability.

After the much-attended preview, the collection is now about to move in. Follow here until the opening on 9 October, with a glimpse behind the scenes, as the art moves into the extension and learn everything about the architecture and sustainability in our film series.

Countdown journal

Richter_A7306685.png
Gerhard Richter, Eight Student Nurses, 1966, Kunsthaus Zürich, 2021 © Gerhard Richter

From abstract expressionism to expressive awakening

With selected works of the collection from 1945 onwards, the expressive aura of modernism has reached the extension building. In an exciting arrangement, the contrasts between abstract expressionism (Newman, Pollock, Rothko, Sekula) and pop art (Warhol, Wool) are being visualised. The spectacular paintings and rare original sculptures by Cy Twombly also form a focal point of this phase in a separate exhibition area. The post-modern spectrum is represented above all by the works of the expressive awakening from 1980 onwards (Baselitz, Genzken, Polke) and a special accent is set by 'Eight Student Nurses', a newly added major work by Gerhard Richter from 1966.

Gqunta.png
Lungiswa Gqunta, Lawn, 2017, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2019

Both a warning and a reminder of the fragile present

The extension now also offers prominent space for contemporary art. Maximum associative works such as those by the South African Lungiswa Gqunta or the Mexican Teresa Margolles focus on existential themes of humanity such as social injustice, expulsion and exclusion. Gqunta's bottle installation 'Lawn' (2017), for example, symbolises the fragility of the South African present in the context of racism and violence. And Margolles's radical works'Pesquisas' (2016) or 'Máscara de Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi sumergida en cemento' (2015) literally placard and cement the disregard for women's and human rights.

Behind the scenes @kunsthauszuerich

Kunst-im-Bau-Erweiterung.jpg

The first artworks in the lobby, bar and garden

A number of works have spent months undergoing restoration to prepare them for presentation in their new permanent home. Alexander Calder’s mobile ‘Cinq blancs, un rouge’ (1972) in the lobby feels almost close enough to reach out and touch. Max Ernst’s mural ‘Pétales et jardin de la nymphe Ancholie’, which was painted in 1934 for the Corso Bar at Bellevue, is now the artistic centrepiece of the Chipperfield Bar. Robert Delauney’s ‘Formes cirulaires’ (1930) draws the eye towards the second floor, while ‘Grundstein’ (2014), donated by Urs Fischer, lies casually between the spaces.

In the latest episode 'Art and Space' of the extension film series, our curators report on the context of the selected permanent collection works.

Watch film on YouTube

Kunsthaussammlung-Erweiterung.jpg
Urs Fischer, Grundstein, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, Donated by the artist, 2016

The Kunsthaus Collection in the new extension

Half of the rooms in the existing building have been reorganized. Now Munch meets Baselitz, while the Egyptian artist Anna Boghiguian shares the domed room (previously formerly home to Böcklin) with Kader Attia. Between now and the opening, the Collection, most of it post-1960, will move into the extension. Dada gains its own exhibition space, as does Cy Twombly, while Hodler and Segantini as well as Monet’s water lilies will be heading across Heimplatz. Many more will follow to complement the private collections.

Kunsthaus collection

Buehrle_A7305562.png

Private collections: Bührle, Merzbacher and Looser

The collection of Emil Bührle, with its world-famous French paintings, is moving into the Kunsthaus. The artistic concept envisages displaying the more than 180 paintings and sculptures alongside works of Classical Modernism, thereby presenting visitors with an unbroken chronological sequence of artistic epochs. Werner Merzbacher shares his passion for art with the public in a feast of colour, the fruit of a long-term cooperation featuring key figures of Impressionism, the ‘Fauves’, ‘Brücke’ and ‘Blauer Reiter’, Futurists and Constructivists as well as more recent positions from Lohse to Rist. Last but not least, 70 selected works of Minimal Art, Arte Povera and Abstract Expressionism from the Looser Collection are a spectacular addition to the Kunsthaus’s holdings.

Private collections

Your #KunsthausExtension

A museum for art and the public

Together with the existing Kunsthaus, which is linked to the Chipperfield building by a passage running beneath Heimplatz, the new ensemble is the largest art museum in Switzerland. The area available for presenting art increases to a total of 11,500 m2. The enlarged Kunsthaus offers more the double the amount of public space. The central lobby, which is open to all, and the multi-purpose workshops provide space for interaction between art and the public and will enhance the scope for sharing and exchange. The shop and bar, ballroom and garden, all of which will be accessible outside museum hours, open the new Kunsthaus up to the city at large.

Vision, planning and construction

Extension film series

6 Videos

6 Min

210721_KunstUndRaum_Graded.00_01_43_01.Standbild003.jpg

Art and space

3 Min

still-final.jpg

Architecture

5 Min

tastende_lichter_small.jpg

Art and construction

3 Min

Nachhaltigkeit-still.png

Sustainability

3 Min

20200330_Episode02_Materialien.00_00_12_11.Standbild005.jpg

Materials

3 Min

20191023_Erweiterung_Lichtkonzept.Still2.jpg

Light concept

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg

In our private architecture tour of the building you’ll learn all about the extension and its star architect’s vision.

Agenda_rechts_EarthBeats_WasaufdemSpielsteht_19.8.21.png

19.8. – 23.9.

En prélude à l’exposition «Earth Beats», le Kunsthaus invite le public à la série d’événements interdisciplinaires «Earth Talks», dans le jardin ainsi que la salle de conférences de la nouvelle extension David Chipperfield. Des personnalités internationales de la climatologie, de la sylviculture, de l’économie, de l’urbanisme, de la recherche sur la mobilité, de la technologie et de la philosophie, ainsi que du cinéma engagé et de la littérature, discuteront des questions de protection de la nature et de développement durable.

Après l'avant-première très attendue, la collection est maintenant sur le point d'être déménagée. Suivez-nous ici jusqu’à l’ouverture le 9 octobre et regardez l’art faire son entrée dans le nouveau bâtiment en jetons un œil en coulisses. Découvrez tout sur l'architecture et la durabilité dans notre série de films.

Journal countdown

Richter_A7306685.png
Gerhard Richter, Acht Lernschwestern, 1966, Kunsthaus Zürich, 2021 © Gerhard Richter

De l'expressionnisme abstrait au départ expressionniste.

Avec des œuvres sélectionnées de la collection à partir de 1945, l'aura expressive du modernisme a atteint le bâtiment d'extension. Dans une disposition passionnante, les contrastes entre l'expressionnisme abstrait (Newman, Pollock, Rothko, Sekula) et le pop art (Warhol, Wool) sont visualisés. Les peintures spectaculaires et les rares sculptures originales de Cy Twombly constituent également un point central de cette phase dans un espace d'exposition séparé. Le spectre post-moderne est surtout représenté par les œuvres du réveil expressif à partir de 1980 (Baselitz, Genzken, Polke) et un accent particulier est mis sur «Acht Lernschwestern» (Huit infirmières d'apprentissage), une nouvelle œuvre majeure de Gerhard Richter datant de 1966.

Gqunta.png
Lungiswa Gqunta, Lawn, 2017, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2019

Evoquer et rappeler le fragile présent

L'extension offre désormais également un espace de premier plan pour l'art contemporain. Les œuvres associatives maximales comme celles de la Sud-Africaine Lungiswa Gqunta ou de la Mexicaine Teresa Margolles se concentrent sur des thèmes existentiels de l'humanité tels que l'injustice sociale, l'expulsion et l'exclusion. L'installation de bouteilles "Lawn" (2017) de Gqunta, par exemple, symbolise la fragilité du présent sud-africain dans un contexte de racisme et de violence. Et les œuvres radicales de Margolles " Pesquisas " (2016) ou " Máscara de Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi sumergida en cemento " (2015) placardent et cimentent littéralement le mépris des droits des femmes et des droits humains.

En coulisses @kunsthauszuerich

Kunst-im-Bau-Erweiterung.jpg

Premières œuvres d’art dans le hall, le bar et le jardin

Pendant plusieurs mois, diverses œuvres ont été restaurées dans les ateliers du Kunsthaus et préparées en vue de leur installation définitive. Suspendu dans le grand hall, un mobile d’Alexandre Calder, «Cinq blancs, un rouge» (1972) donne l’impression de pouvoir presque être touché. La peinture murale de Max Ernst intitulée «Pétales et jardin de la nymphe Ancholie», réalisée en 1934 pour le bar du Corso, sur la place Bellevue, est désormais l’attraction majeure du bar Chipperfield. Les «Formes circulaires» (1930) de Robert Delaunay attirent le regard jusqu’au deuxième étage, et la sculpture «Grundstein» (première pierre) (2014) d’Urs Fischer est posée nonchalamment entre les salles.

Dans le dernier épisode de la série de films d'extension «Art et espace», nos conservateurs rendent compte du contexte des œuvres sélectionnées de la collection permanente.

Regardez le film sur YouTube

Kunsthaussammlung-Erweiterung.jpg
Urs Fischer, Grundstein, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, don de lʼartiste, 2016

La collection fait son entrée

Dans les bâtiments historiques, la moitié des pièces a été réaménagée. Munch croise désormais Baselitz, et l’artiste égyptienne Anna Boghiguian partage avec Kader Attia l’ancienne salle de la coupole auparavant consacrée à Böcklin. D’ici à l’inauguration, la collection (essentiellement des œuvres postérieures à 1960) sera progressivement installée dans la nouvelle aile. Dada aura son propre espace, de même que Cy Twombly, Hodler et Segantini, et les nymphéas de Monet passeront de l’autre côté. Bien d’autres œuvres suivront, et seront rejointes par des collections privées.

La collection du Kunsthaus

Buehrle_A7305562.png

Collections particulières: Bührle, Merzbacher et Looser

La collection Emil Bührle, connue des amateurs de peinture française du monde entier, s’installe au Kunsthaus. Le concept artistique prévoit de placer cet ensemble de plus de 180 tableaux et sculptures à proximité des salles d’art moderne afin d’offrir au public un continuum entre les époques. Quant à Werner Merzbacher, il partagera avec le public sa passion de l’art à travers un véritable feu d’artifice de couleurs. On pourra ainsi voir les principaux représentants de l’impressionnisme, du fauvisme, des membres de Die Brücke, du Cavalier Bleu, des futuristes et des constructivistes, ainsi que des travaux plus récents, de Lohse à Rist. Last but not least, 70 œuvres du minimalisme, de l’Arte Povera et de l’expressionnisme abstrait sélectionnées dans la collection Looser viendront enrichir avec brio ce panorama.

Voir les collections particulières

Votre #KunsthausExtension

Un lieu pour l’art et pour le public

Avec l’association du Kunsthaus historique et du bâtiment Chipperfield, reliés par un passage souterrain sous la Heimplatz, c’est le plus grand musée d’art de Suisse qui voit le jour. Les surfaces dédiées à la présentation de l’art passent à 11 500 m2, tandis que la part d’espaces publics fait plus que doubler. Le hall central librement accessible et les ateliers utilisables de multiples manières offrent tout l’espace nécessaire pour favoriser l’interaction entre l’art et le public et intensifier les échanges. Doté d’une boutique, d’un bar, d’une grande salle de réception et d’un jardin (autant d’espaces qui seront accessibles aussi en dehors des heures d’ouverture du musée), le nouveau Kunsthaus s’ouvre sur l’extérieur.

Vision, planification et construction

Série de films de l'extension

6 Vidéos

6 Min

210721_KunstUndRaum_Graded.00_01_43_01.Standbild003.jpg

Art et espace

3 Min

still-final.jpg

Architecture

5 Min

tastende_lichter_small.jpg

Art et batiment

3 Min

Nachhaltigkeit-still.png

viabilité

3 Min

20200330_Episode02_Materialien.00_00_12_11.Standbild005.jpg

Materiaux

3 Min

20191023_Erweiterung_Lichtkonzept.Still2.jpg

Concept de lumière

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg

Avec une visite guidée architecture vous saurez tout sur l'extension et sur les visions architecturales du célèbre architecte.